top of page

Testing the Friendship

I tested the vans limits and adversity yesterday. I ventured out to my friend Paul's retreat. He lives in the middle of the forest and his driveway is challenging at the best of times. Yesterday as I drove through the biggest storm I have seen in 12 months I mentally prepared myself for the driveway. I had been warned by Paul to be careful due to the amount of rain. The storm finished just as I approached the driveway. A deep breath was taken just before I started the climb. Halfway up the treacherous track the wheels started spinning and I panicked. I stopped and that was the beginning of the end. As I tried to correct things the wheels left the cement track and the terrifying slide down the muddy hill of hell started. No control what so ever!! my vans short life flashed before my eyes. I thought my adventures in my van were over already and then the sliding stopped. Shaken and overflowing with adrenaline I ran up the rest of the hill to Paus place and announced my disastrous predicament.

Now Paul is a beautiful human being and remained calm and collected. when seeing the van blocking his driveway he said 'get a photo of this one'.

Always thinking ahead haha.

He assessed the situation still calm and logical. He talked me through some options and we made a decision. I jumped back in the drivers seat and he guided me inch by inch into a position where I wouldn't slide into the gully only a meter away or slide down the rest of the driveway into the gate posts. He is an absolute legend and I am eternally grateful. Best of all no damage was done to my van or me! And better then all of that not a single leech found me!!! With careful consideration and a little bit of stubbornness I tried again to get up this driveway. A final briefing from Paul and up I went. WOO BLODDY HOO I did it! I didn't stop, slow down or dare overthink it. I pulled up at Paul's house, got out and jumped with joy...adrenaline still pumping!

A nice dinner, a movie and then a night in my new camper and it was all worth it. My first night done. Matilda has been christened!

next item will be a matress topper!!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page