top of page

Becoming a Mechanic and getting to know my van

I have sold my beloved MT09 and bought myself a Campervan! First big personal test in 'Letting Go' but while driving the van back from Yamba with my daughter Emily and Oliver sitting next to me I knew in my bones I had done the right thing! My beautiful daughter seemed as happy as me and said 'Mum I'm giddy with excitement about this van and it's not even mine". With the stamp of approval from Emily and Oliver we named the Van Matilda. I have never named a car but this one is different...I'm entering into a relationship with this van, a relationship of mutual respect. I will look after her and in return she looks after me.

With Matilda now in my possession my next task is to get her ready for my trip. I have talked to many people and have had many offers of help, especially with the mechanics and auto electrical side, however my dad has assured me that I can do it under his guidance. With the help of YouTube and my dads experience with old school cars I have started learning very quickly that I can do anything! As dad showed me a Youtube clip of pulling out a starter motor and cleaning it up I said out loud "I can do that! I so got this!!" The next day I'm squeezed under the van unbolting the starter motor (I hoped it was the starter motor haha). This was fiddly and all the while we were saying "if we can at least get it out we can work on it another day and maybe by the weekend we can get it back in. worst comes to worst we will take it to an auto electrician and they can fix it". After getting it out we opened it up, cleaned the solenoids and with great confidence I declared "I'm going to put it back in now!" AND I DID! in one afternoon after work I had completed my first ever mechanic job! I was soooo proud of myself and so was my dad.

After putting in the starter motor and testing that it actually worked dad had grown even more confidence in me. "if you can do that sweetie then setting up the duel battery system will be a piece of cake for you". I have never felt so close to my dad. Who knew we would bond over something like this. I said to him as we were discussing the mechanical stuff "I feel like your son" and he said to me with great pride "No you are my daughter". I have since change a fuel filter and started doing maintenance inside the van as well. Duel battery system will be installed next week and then wheel alignment and oil change. This is all vital knowledge for me to have if I am travelling alone. I'm not going to have a man with me and having these skills has given me an amazing sense of independence and power. I can do anything!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page