top of page

How did it start?

My journey to my decision to leave my job, home and family started in January of 2017. In January of 2017 I set off on 'The Overland Track' of Tasmania. This was a huge event for me as it came with a lot of fear and uncertainty. I hiked with three other incredible women who showed me strength, confidence and support. A gift I will treasure for ever! The other gift I was given was the gift of sight. I saw that I was in position in my relationship that wasn't right. I needed to leave and I did! I moved to Coffs Harbour and while there grew the strength to be alone but also became riddled with anxiety. I battled through and then the second and even more significant insight came as I walked the Larapinta Trail in the Northern Territory. It was during this walk that I have met some of the most special people of my life and found my love for myself. So much healing occurred for us all as we walked, talked and shared our way through the MacDonald Ranges. Climbing Mount Sonder at night and watching the sun rise marks the day for me that I decided I was going to do something to find the true woman inside of me! Coming back after this trip was so difficult. Anxiety went through the roof and I thought I was going to have a heart attack or start drinking or worse! I needed to escape!! Then it occurred to me...why don't I escape? Why don't I leave? Why don't I follow my passion for hiking and making it my new career? I don't I say No More to societies pressures? What's keeping me here? The answer was suddenly clear...nothing is holding me here and I am free to do what ever the hell I want to do...WOW! it was on this day that I started to breath again. Everyone, especially my daughter said 'of course you should do it!" SO I am. I'm selling all of my stuff and I'm becoming a nomad. I'm going to travel Australia and become a hiking tour guide! WooHoo!!

This picture was taken in the Northern Territory. It was the day before we hiked Mount Sonder. My White Ribbon Family and now some of my dearest friends.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page